Inspiration Intervention

Image

I like to think I’m a creative type. I can spend hours in a good fabric store, considering each bolt of cloth and the many possibilities for a perfect pattern match. I’d never cut it on Project Runway. 15 minutes to get in and out with your supplies- to hell with that! Snappy decisions aren’t my style. I’d be all outraged at the producers and crying “But I need to consider ALL the options for lining” 

I used to think this was ok and was even proud I took time to oh so carefully plan my sewing projects. It usually goes something like this – spy amazing new independently designed pattern (OMG I must own it!) Read and reread pattern, doing the mental sewing (like a bawsssss nerd). Google the shit out of other peeps’ projects (ooh I would have never considered silk dupioni, nice one stranger). Then with the fabric shopping (hours lost) ….then the tracing, so much tracing (can’t cut up lovely pattern). Next step make a muslin. All good sewist do right, RIGHT.  And before I even get to cutting into the expensive silk (who’s dumb idea was that anyway, it’s never going to work, I need drape) I now hate the bloody stupid pattern. 

Have you been here? Maybe your craft is grooming dogs to resemble other animals, but you get where I’m coming from, right? 

THIS is why I don’t get shit done. I suspect this massively slow production is why, of late, I’ve become more of a virtual sewist, living through others’ creativity. But I’m looking for inspiration, right? I’m being inspired. If I Pin am I not creating? 

Ok, don’t answer that. We all know why Pinterest exists (what….you mean I’m not that awesome or fashionable in real life? I so am, Internet doesn’t lie). 

For the better part of a week I have had a shirt in various stages of production on my dining table. Well I say shirt, think T-shirt. It has 4 seams to stitch. 4 straight up, nothing tricky at all seams. I’m not even going to hem the sucker. There are only 2 pieces to join, 3 if you count a small neck binding.  A WEEK! This should have taken me 20 minutes, maybe 25 if I include time for tea drinking. I suck. 

Image

I WILL get this done today.  

Hmmm…. I bet a quick Pinterest search will turn up something that helps me better manage my time……

 

4 thoughts on “Inspiration Intervention

  1. Amanda

    I am so throwing down a gauntlet here! I challenge you to get in your stash and grab some rando fabric and patterns you already have, ignore the muslin and just create for the sake of creating. Sometimes overthinking can be the death of the joy of creation. And also sew with a cocktail. Or wine. Or cider. This always helps ;)

    Reply
  2. redleadkitty Post author

    You are SO right! Challenge accepted. Hell I might even cut into some fabric I’ve been hoarding for way too long. You are an inspiration (and possible cyborg underneath your cool exterior. I’m not convinced otherwise given all the evidence) xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

